منسق الإنصاف والتميز

دكتور كاميكا جلين

اسمي KaMyka Glenn وأنا منسق الأسهم والتميز في مدرسة Dorothy Hamm Middle School. أنا جديد في مدارس أرلينغتون العامة هذا العام الدراسي وأنا متحمس لأن أصبح جزءًا من عائلة فينيكس!

لمشاركة جزء صغير من قصتي ، حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في القيادة التربوية وحصلت على درجة الماجستير في التعليم الثانوي الخاص وخدمات الانتقال وخدمات الانتقال متعدد التخصصات. مع أكثر من 15 عامًا من الخبرة في مجال التعليم ، عملت كمدرس ومدير ومتخصص انتقالي للتربية الخاصة ومسؤول في كل من القطاعات العامة والخاصة وغير العامة. لقد خدمت مجموعة متنوعة من الطلاب ، بما في ذلك الطلاب ذوي الإعاقة والطلاب المسجونين والطلاب الذين تم تحديدهم على أنهم "معرضون للخطر". الأهم من ذلك ، أنا متحمس في جهودي لدعم طلابنا وأعضاء هيئة التدريس.

بصفتي EEC ، أعمل كجزء من فريقنا التعليمي وأشارك مع جميع أقسام مجتمع مدرستنا لضمان أننا مقصودون في جهودنا نحو إنشاء والحفاظ على فرص متكافئة لهيئة الطلاب لدينا. أركز على إنشاء مساحات مفتوحة آمنة وواسعة لسماع أصوات الجميع والتعرف على احتياجاتهم.

على الرغم من الرحلة الفريدة التي اكتشفناها ، في هذا العام الدراسي ، فإننا نعمل على ضمان أن نكون مجهزين بفرص للنمو والتأمل الذاتي كعائلة فينيكس. يتعاون أعضاء هيئة التدريس وعائلاتنا معًا في هذا الأمر حتى نتمكن جميعًا من النمو مع المزيد من المعلومات التي نعرفها عن احتياجات طلابنا. شيء واحد نعرفه بالتأكيد هو أن حجمًا واحدًا لا يناسب الجميع. إن جسد الطلاب الجميل لدينا فريد ومتنوع من نواحٍ عديدة تشمل العرق والهوية الجنسية والثقافة وخبرات الحياة ، فضلاً عن القدرة الأكاديمية ونقر بأن أياً من هؤلاء لا يخلو من التحديات الفريدة التي نعتزم مواجهتها واحتضانها معًا!

أتطلع إلى العمل مع طلابنا أثناء زيارتي والمشاركة في الفصول الدراسية! استمر في أن تكون رائعًا عن قصد و "كن التغيير الذي تريد رؤيته في العالم".

Equity and Excellence Coordinator

Dr. KaMyka Glenn

My name is KaMyka Glenn and I am the Equity and Excellence Coordinator at Dorothy Hamm Middle School. I am new to Arlington Public Schools this school year and I am excited to become a part of the Phoenix family!

To share a little bit of my story, I received my doctorate in Educational Leadership and has a master’s degree in Secondary Special Education and Transition Services, Interdisciplinary Transition Services. With more than 15 years of experience in education, I have served as a teacher, director, transition specialist for special education, and administrator on both public, private, and nonpublic sectors. I have served a variety of student populations, including students with disabilities, incarcerated students, and students identified as “at-risk.” Most importantly, I am passionate in my efforts to support our students and faculty.

As the EEC, I serve as a part of our instructional team and I partner with all divisions of our school community to ensure that we are intentional in our efforts towards establishing and maintaining equitable opportunities for our student body. I am focused on creating safe and wide open spaces for everyone’s voices to be heard and their needs to be acknowledged.

Despite the unique journey that we have discovered, this school year, we are working to ensure that we are equipped with opportunities for growth and self-reflection as a Phoenix family. Our faculty and our families are partnering together in this so that we can all grow with the more that we know about the needs of our students. One thing we know, for sure, is that one size does NOT fit all. Our beautiful student body is unique and diverse in many ways that include race, gender identity, culture, life experiences, as well as academic ability and we acknowledge that none of these are without their unique challenges that we intend to face and embrace together!

I look forward to working with our students as I visit and participate in classes! Continue to be great on purpose and “be the change you want to see in the world.”