在家中的充实和挑战机会

 

浓缩资源
APS资优服务–支持在家中的资优儿童 这是一个涵盖年级和内容领域的在线资源的广泛列表。 您会发现许多相同的建议。 但是,如果您在家中的K-5或9-12年级有学生,请检查此列表,因为我的重点是更多的初中年龄。
汗学院 学生和家长可以在数学,科学和设计思维各个领域找到挑战的资源。
PBS学习媒体,中学 跨多个学科的交互式课程计划,视频等。 还有一些很酷的时事视频和测验。
史密森尼学习实验室 当您深入兴趣区时,发现史密森尼所提供的所有资源。 然后创建您收集的信息的集合。 然后,您可以分享您的收藏或从他人的收藏中学习。
面向儿童的Mensa 课程计划,设计活动和TED连接将为扩展提供很多可能性。

TED与孩子们交谈观看

灿烂的孩子和青少年的TED演讲

满足学生的好奇心。 与您的学生一起观看并激发深入的对话,或者让您的学生在朋友中组成一个兴趣小组,以观看和讨论特定的TED演讲。
常识媒体针对青少年的十大播客 播客中有很多学习,启发和讨论的机会。 选择一个情节来散步或全家一起听。 根据特定的播客与同行建立讨论组。
奇迹城 每天都会发布新的“奇迹”。 对于好奇的学习者来说,这是一个很好的机会来研究几个不同的有趣事实,并有后续的资源来学习更多。
CrashCourse YouTube频道中包含大量有关各种主题和学科的视频库。
现在的地理 YouTube频道收集了有关世界不同国家的信息性和趣味性视频。
伦佐利学习 当谈到资优教育时,约瑟夫·伦茨里(Joseph Renzulli)真是大不了! Renzulli Learning是一个在线互动系统,可以帮助学生建立学习档案,然后可以基于个性化的学习档案访问有用的资源和想法。 您可以查看Renzulli Learning的家庭版,找到适合全家的有趣活动。
虚拟实地考察的想法和链接 难道你现在不能旅行? 尝试这些虚拟实地考察,无需排队就可以参观卢浮宫! 试试看,告诉我哪些旅行是您的最爱。 我个人很喜欢一些互动式动物园体验。
才华横溢的家伙 观看有趣的视频,这些视频可以教学生如何学习国际象棋,如何做数独,或者如何创建自己的School House Rock等。学习如何做一些可以刺激大脑的有趣的机会很多。
谷歌艺术与文化 放大著名的艺术品,以更多地了解作品和艺术家。 您也可以参加有趣的测验。
PBS思维数学 进行一些现实世界中的数学应用,并更深入地思考如何应用您想知道的数学技能“我何时会在现实生活中使用它?”
NCES儿童区 一个有趣的地方,可以尝试一些统计游戏,查看不同的学校,甚至可以使用大学导航器了解不同的大学。
你可以做魔方 一直想用您的魔方技能来打动您的朋友,但永远无法完全弄清楚吗? 访问此站点,学习如何成为多维数据集的大师!
肯肯拼图! 测试一下您的数学技能,舒展您的大脑,然后玩得开心! 这是所有年级的KenKen拼图。
辉煌 尝试每天的挑战!
技能分享创意写作 想要发展成为一名创意作家吗? 请访问此网站,获取有关如何制作手工艺品的视频和每日提示。
NASA订婚 想查看一些STEM活动吗? NASA覆盖了您! 通过NASA Education Outreach成为下一代探险家。
尝试工程 探索工程和活动的不同领域,这些领域将对您解决问题提出挑战。
史密森尼的历史浏览器 一个很好的地方,可以从您一直好奇的历史中了解有关时间,事件,人或团体的更多信息。
肯·伯恩斯在教室里 纪录片的主人之一! 您可以通过他的纪录片和主要资料来源来探索历史时期。
额外的历史 对军事历史感兴趣? 这是适合您的YouTube频道!
国家地理儿童 《国家地理儿童》是一个很棒的资源,其中包含有关各种主题的活动,视频和游戏。
戴森的44张实验挑战卡 戴森基金会汇集了一些工程和科学方面的挑战,供孩子们尝试。 这些是具有说明和解释的挑战卡-易于遵循和尝试!
写。 对。 仪式。 查看令人惊叹的作家Jason Reynolds的视频系列,该系列视频可帮助创意作家练习手艺。 每个视频都以提示结尾,以指导年轻作家在创造性写作的不同方面进行尝试。
路径2TJ 如果您有兴趣申请托马斯·杰斐逊科学技术高中,请访问Path2TJ。 这是一个非营利组织,由成功的TJ学生开发,他们希望帮助潜在的TJ学生为入学流程做准备。 这是一个学习更多关于学校和学生生活的好网站,并且您还将找到可以帮助您为入学流程做准备的课程。
竞争机会
国际学术竞赛每日图片测验 尝试这些每日图片测验挑战,然后将您的答案发送给IAC。 他们将每月宣布获奖者并发送奖品。 每日测验挑战机会
哲学大满贯 您是一个深刻的思想家,并且喜欢以哲学的方式讨论所有主题吗? 查看这场比赛。 全国冠军将在今年晚些时候宣布并获得奖品。 提交截止日期发布在网站上
全国歌唱比赛 如果您是一位出色的歌手,那么该组织会为您提供一些不同的比赛机会。 提交内容取决于竞争。
创意传播 该组织全年提供不同的写作比赛。 全年比赛–检查季节性截止日期。
弓座海洋意识竞赛 这是一个由青少年组成的国际组织,他们关心气候变化如何影响环境,尤其是海洋。 它始于马萨诸塞州的波士顿,并通过外展而发展。 初夏之前可以接受不同类别的条目。 初级和高级部门获奖者都有奖品。
范围竞赛 SCOPE由学校管理,并提供几种不同的写作竞赛。 所参加比赛的参赛作品是滚动式的。
PBS全球设计团队 PBS为孩子们提供了设计上的挑战。 您上载设计并说明它如何解决问题。 他们通常会奖励最有创意的贴纸。
NPR学生播客比赛 NPR邀请学生创建自己的3到12分钟的播客。 这项比赛通常在年初进行。 如果您有兴趣参加,请与我联系。
3M年轻科学家实验室挑战赛 用创造性的解决方案拍摄自己解决日常问题的方法。 提交截止日期已发布在网站上。
RFK大声说唱 制作原创歌曲,引起人们对人权问题的关注。 提交截止日期已发布在网站上。
词汇碗! “词汇碗”是一项全国性的竞赛,旨在了解哪个学校可以掌握最多的单词。 You can play word games, join vocab jams and compete against kids from all over, and you can upload your own word lists to study.您可以玩文字游戏,加入vocab果酱并与来自世界各地的孩子竞争,还可以上传自己的单词列表进行学习。 比赛在1月30日至XNUMX月XNUMX日举行。如果您想报名,请参阅Partington女士以获取团队加入链接。
NASA的Artemis Moon Pod作文比赛 为了庆祝NASA的Artemis计划,他们提供了论文竞赛。 5-8年级的学生可以写一篇长达200个单词的文章,描述他们对月球的虚构探索。 选定的准决赛选手将被邀请在与NASA专家进行的一系列Artemis Explorer会议中代表他们的州或领地。 九个决赛入围者将于明年夏天与父母一起前往NASA的约翰逊航天中心,以了解月球探测,每个年级的国家优胜者将赢得一次家庭旅行,观看佛罗里达州肯尼迪航天中心首次进行的Artemis测试发射。 Godspeed,祝你好运! 论文必须在17年2020月XNUMX日之前提交。
科学伙伴工程挑战 您的学生是否正在接受STEM和设计挑战,请查看此竞赛! 仅用纸和胶带就可以建造多高的塔楼? 您能使它坚固到足以容纳一罐食物吗? 尝试一下此挑战,您可能会为学校,课后计划,食品银行或社区中的其他非营利组织赢得十个$ 1,000 USD的奖励之一! 您可以随时进行设计挑战,但是如果您对比赛感兴趣,请在12年2021月XNUMX日截止日期之前完成塔楼和测试并提交照片和分数。

At-Home Enrichment and Challenge Opportunities

While we are social distancing and getting more familiar with distance learning as our daily routine, you may find your gifted learner needs more chances for enrichment and challenge. Be assured that I am continuously working with our DHMS faculty to assist in developing differentiated materials and opportunities. In addition to faculty collaboration, I am also compiling some resources and competition opportunities for our students to try out some extra brain exercise when they need it.

I will continue to add resources as I find them, so please check back regularly. I will also tweet any additions, so you can also follow me @RTG_KatDHMS. And, of course, email me with any questions you may have.

Enrichment Resources
APS Gifted Services – Supporting Gifted Children at home This is an extensive list of online resources across grades and content areas. You will find many of the same suggestions; however, if you have students at home in K-5 or 9-12, check this list out as my focus is more opportunities for middle school age.
Khan Academy Resources for students and parents to find challenges in various areas of math, science, and design thinking.
PBS Learning Media, Middle School Interactive lesson plans, videos, and more across several disciplines. Also some cool current event videos and quizzes.
Smithsonian Learning Lab Discover all the resources the Smithsonian has to offer as you dive deep into an interest area. Then create collections of the information you gather. Then you can share your collection or learn from others’ collections.
Mensa for Kids Lesson plans, design activities, and TED connections will provide a lot of possibilities for extensions.
TED Talks to Watch with KidsTED Talks by Brilliant Kids and Teens Feed your student’s curiosity. Watch with your student and inspire deep conversation, or have your student form an interest group among friends to watch and discuss specific TED Talks.
Common Sense Media’s Top 10 Podcasts for Tweens and Teens So many opportunities in podcasts to learn, inspire, and discuss. Pick an episode to listen to on a walk or as a family. Build a discussion group with peers based on a specific podcast.
Wonderopolis Each day a new “wonder” is posted. This is a great chance for the curious learner to look into several different fun facts and have follow up resources to learn more.
CrashCourse YouTube channel that has a huge library of videos on a variety of topics and disciplines.
GeographyNow YouTube channel that has a collection of informational and fun videos about different countries around the world.
Renzulli Learning When it comes to gifted education, Joseph Renzulli is kind of a big deal! Renzulli Learning is an online interactive system that helps students develop a learning profile and then have access to helpful resources and ideas based on the individualized learning profile. You can check out the home edition of Renzulli Learning to find engaging activities for the whole family.
Virtual Field Trip Ideas and Links Bummed that you can’t travel right now? Try these virtual field trips and visit the Louvre without waiting in line! Try them out and tell me which trips are your favorite. I personally am loving some of the interactive zoo experiences.
The Gifted Guy Enrichment Check out fun videos that teach a student how to learn chess, or how to do sodoku, or how to create your own School House Rock, etc. There are a lot of fun chances to learn how to do something that stimulates your brain.
Google Arts & Culture Zoom in on famous pieces of art to learn more about the work and the artist. You can also participate in fun quizzes.
PBS Think Math Take on some real world applications of mathematics and think more deeply about how to apply that math skill you wondered “When will I use this in real life?”
NCES Kids’ Zone A Fun place to try out some statistics games, look at different schools, and even learn about different colleges with the college navigator.
You Can Do the Rubik’s Cube Always wanted to impress your friends with your Rubik’s Cube skills, but never could quite figure it out? Check out this site and learn how to be a cube master!
KenKen Puzzles! Test out your math skills, stretch your brain, and have fun! Here are KenKen puzzles for all grades.
Brilliant Try out a daily challenge!
Skill Share Creative Writing Want to develop as a creative writer? Check out this site with videos and daily tips on how to build your craft.
NASA Stem Engagement Want to check out some STEM activities? NASA has you covered! Become the next generation of explorers with NASA Education Outreach.
Try Engineering Explore different fields of engineering and activities that will challenge you with problem solving.
Smithsonian’s History Explorer An excellent place to learn more about a time, event, person, or group from history that you have been curious about.
Ken Burns In the Classroom One of the masters of documentaries! You can explore a time period in history through his documentaries and analysis of primary sources.
Extra History Interested in military history? Here is the YouTube channel for you!
National Geographic Kids National Geographic Kids is a great resource with activities, videos, and games on a variety of topics.
Dyson’s 44 Experiment Challenge Cards The Dyson foundation has put together some engineering and science challenges for kids to try. These are challenge cards with directions and explanations – easy to follow and try out!
Write. Right. Rite. Check out amazing author Jason Reynolds’ video series that helps creative writers practice their craft. Each video ends with a prompt to guide young writers in playing around with different aspects of creative writing.
Competition Opportunities
International Academic Competitions Daily Picture Quiz Try these daily picture quiz challenges, and then send in your answers to IAC. They will announce winners each month and send out prizes. Daily quiz challenge opportunities
Philosophy Slam Are you a deep thinker and love to discuss all topics in a philosophical way? Check out this competition. National winners are announced later in the year and receive prizes. Submission deadlines posted on site
National Singing Competitions If you are a good singer, this organization has a few different competition opportunities for you to check out. Submissions depend on competition.
Creative Communication This organization offers different writing competitions throughout the year. Competitions throughout the year – check for seasonal deadlines.
Bow Seat Ocean Awareness Contest This is an international organization of teens who care about how climate change is affecting the environment, specifically the ocean. It started in Boston, Mass. and has grown through outreach. Entries for the different categories are accepted through early summer. There are prizes for junior and senior division winners.
SCOPE Contests SCOPE is run by scholastic and offers several different writing contests. Entries are on a rolling basis for the contest you are entering.
PBS Global Design Squad PBS offers a design challenge for kids to try out. You upload your design and explain how it solves a problem. They usually reward stickers to most creative.
NPR Student Podcast Competition NPR invites students to create their own 3- to 12-minute podcast. This competition usually takes place in the beginning of the year. Contact me if you’re interested in participating.
3M Young Scientist Lab Challenge Film yourself solving an everyday problem with a creative solution. Submission deadlines are posted on the site.
RFK Speak Up, Sing Out Produce an original song that brings attention to a human rights issue. Submission deadlines are posted on the site.
Vocabulary Bowl! Build your vocabulary while earning points for DHMS! The Vocabulary Bowl is a national competition to see which school can master the most words. You can play word games, join vocab jams and compete against kids from all over, and you can upload your own word lists to study. The competitions takes place between October 1-April 30. If you would like to sign up, see Ms. Partington for the team join links.
NASA’s Artemis Moon Pod Essay Contest In celebration of NASA’s Artemis program, they are offering an essay contest. Students in grades 5-8 can write an essay up to 200 words that describes their fictional exploration of the moon. Selected semifinalists will be invited to represent their state or territory in a series of Artemis Explorer sessions with NASA experts. Nine finalists will travel with a parent to NASA’s Johnson Space Center next summer to learn about lunar exploration, and the national winner in each grade division will win a family trip to see the first Artemis test launch from Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Godspeed and good luck! Essays must be submitted by December 17th, 2020.