高中选择

高中选项信息

阿灵顿科技
托马斯杰斐逊科技高中


阿灵顿科技

今年秋天晚些时候,八年级学生将有资格申请8-2020学年的阿灵顿技术大学。 阿灵顿技术学院是面向以STEM为导向的自主学习者的严格选择程序,他们在协作小组中蓬勃发展,并且对早日开始大学课程感兴趣。 阿灵顿技术学院是通过基于真实项目的学习定义的,并将职业技术教育(CTE)与大学预科课程的高级学者相结合。

入学要求:

数学要求 (以确保可以访问双重注册课程):
到10年级时,所有学生都必须处于Algebra II(或更高版本)。 根据此要求,必须进行以下操作:

  • 进入9年级的学生必须在8年级结束时获得代数I的认证学分。 如果没有,他们将承诺在他们的9年级和10年级的夏季获得几何学分。
  • 进入10年级的学生必须在9年级结束时获得代数I和几何学的认证学分。 如果没有,他们将承诺在他们的9年级和10年级的夏季获得几何学分。

队列需求 (以确保学生获得跨学科的PBL):所有参加阿灵顿技术大学的学生都同意参加该队列,并保持与我们的课程路径相对应的时间表。 

8年级的学生将于13月14日或XNUMX月XNUMX日参加对阿灵顿理工大学的实地考察 以了解有关此机会的更多信息,并将在XNUMX月初提供应用程序。 有关阿灵顿技术的更多信息,请参见传单(即将推出!)和/或访问以下网站查看其网站: https://careercenter.apsva.us/arlington-tech/.


托马斯杰斐逊科技高中

如果您有兴趣申请托马斯·杰斐逊科学技术高中(TJHSST), 应用程序现已可用。TJHSST资格要求是:

  • 在校八年级学生
  • 数学要求:TJHSST新生课程的申请者必须修整年的Algebra 1才能获得高中学分或8年级以上的数学课程
  • TJHSST的所有申请人在7年级完成时必须具有3.0或更高的GPA,才有资格申请。

申请TJHSST的截止日期是 九月27,2019在4pm。 在此日期和时间之后提交的申请将不被接受。 (强烈建议有兴趣的候选人尽早申请以进行数学验证。)TJHSST信息会议目前在各个地点举行。 演示位置,日期和时间可以找到 点击此处。 您还可以找到今年演讲的副本 点击此处.TJHSST招生办公室联系信息如下:

周一至周五,上午8点至下午4点
电话:571-423-3770
招生办公室传真:571-423-3777
tjadmissions@fcps.edu

为协助申请过程,DHMS-TJHSST联络员/联络点,八年级学校顾问Carrie Schaefer女士,可以通过以下方式与我们联系。 carrie.schaefer@apsva.us 或者在703-228-2922

High School Information

High School Option Information

Arlington Tech
Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology


Arlington Tech

Later this fall, 8th grade students will be eligible to apply to attend Arlington Tech for the 2020-2021 school year.  Arlington Tech is rigorous option program for STEM oriented, self-directed learners who thrive in collaborative groups and are interested in starting their college curriculum early.  Arlington Tech is defined by authentic project based-learning and integrates Career & Technical Education (CTE) with advanced, college-prep academics.

Requirements for Enrollment:

Math Requirement (to ensure access to Dual-Enrolled Courses):
All students need to be in Algebra II (or above) by the 10th grade. In accordance with this requirement, the following must occur:

  • Students entering the 9th grade must have earned a verified credit in Algebra I by the end of their 8th grade year. If not, they will commit to earning a Geometry credit in the summer between their 9th and 10th grade years.
  • Students entering the 10th grade must have earned a verified credit in Algebra I and Geometry by the end of their 9th grade year. If not, they will commit to earning a Geometry credit in the summer between their 9th and 10th grade years.

Cohort Requirement (to ensure that students access interdisciplinary PBL): all students enrolling in Arlington Tech agree to participate in a cohort and maintain a schedule that maps to our course pathway. 

8th grade students will participate in a field trip to Arlington Tech on either November 13th or November 14th to learn more about this opportunity, and applications will be available in early November. For more information about Arlington Tech please see the flyer (coming soon!) and/or check out their website at: https://careercenter.apsva.us/arlington-tech/.


Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology

If you are interested in applying to Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST), applications are now available.TJHSST eligibility requirements are:

  • Current 8th grade students
  • Math Requirements: Applicants to the freshman class at TJHSST must be taking a full-year of Algebra 1 for high school credit or a higher level math course in grade 8
  • All applicants to TJHSST, at the completion of 7th grade, must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher in order to be eligible to apply.

The deadline to apply for TJHSST is September 27, 2019 at 4pm. Applications submitted after this date and time WILL NOT be accepted. (It is highly recommended that interested candidates apply early to allow for math verification)TJHSST informational meetings are currently being held at a variety of locations. Presentation locations, dates and times can be found here. You can also find a copy of this year’s presentation here.TJHSST Admissions Office Contact information is below:

Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Phone: 571-423-3770
Admissions Office FAX: 571-423-3777
tjadmissions@fcps.edu

For assistance with the application process, Ms. Carrie Schaefer, 8th grade School Counselor, is the DHMS-TJHSST liaison/point of contact and can be reached at carrie.schaefer@apsva.us or at 703-228-2922