Dépliant Phoenix # 3

26 August 2020

Chères familles DHMS,

Bienvenue à l'année scolaire 20-21. L'équipe administrative et le service de conseil de Dorothy Hamm ont travaillé pendant les mois d'été pour imaginer et créer une excellente expérience d'apprentissage pour nos étudiants. Bien que nous préférions être en personne, nous sommes impatients de voir votre jeune dans nos salles de classe «virtuelles». Nous avons beaucoup appris au printemps dernier sur la façon de faire participer nos élèves, comment les soutenir et des stratégies efficaces d'enseignement et d'apprentissage. Nous sommes ravis de commencer cette nouvelle année en mettant l'accent sur le nouveau contenu, en travaillant avec les étudiants pendant les périodes de cours «en direct» et en aidant les étudiants à s'adapter et à s'adapter socialement émotionnellement à ce nouveau monde.

J'ai inclus de nombreuses informations ci-dessous pour vous aider à préparer le début de l'école. Notre site Web regorge de bonnes informations. Vérifiez-le. Notre bureau principal est occupé quotidiennement entre 8h et 4h pour répondre à vos appels téléphoniques et collecter ou partager des documents. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Avec excitation,
Ellen
Ellen Smith, directrice du DHMS

~ Le dépliant Phoenix ~

Notre bâtiment continue d'être un chantier de construction - mais si vous êtes passé par là, vous avez remarqué que les progrès ont été fantastiques. Cette semaine, les meubles sont déplacés dans les salles de classe, la semaine prochaine, les livres de la bibliothèque doivent être livrés et mis sur les tablettes, et le bâtiment fait l'objet de multiples nettoyages en profondeur. Le trottoir de notre marche de commémoration historique (de Old Dominion Dr.) est en place et les panneaux métalliques avec l'histoire et l'art sont en développement. Nous aurons une célébration virtuelle une fois celle-ci terminée.

Le personnel du DHMS est ravi de revenir. Parce que notre population étudiante a augmenté, nous avons ajouté de nombreux nouveaux enseignants. Veuillez vous joindre à moi pour accueillir ces formidables professeurs dans la famille Phoenix:

Molly Norrbom - Anglais 6 Abigail Gwydir - Entreprise / Comp Sci
LaPortia Banks - Anglais 6 Savannah Lunger - Drame
Beth Malks - Études sociales 6 Crystal Moore - Équité et excellence
Sabrina McManus - Mathématiques 6 Juanita Gibbons - apprenants d'anglais
Regina Boyd - Anglais 7 Gisela Caballero - Espagnol / EL
Juan Moya Rojas - Math 7 Edgar King - Langue des signes américaine
Elise Krueger - Science 7 Andral Hills - Exemp. Proj. Coach / Test
Madison McSherry - Études sociales 7 Cierra Fisher - Conseil
Donald Marszalek - Science 8 Derrick Milton - Stagiaire en travail social
Craig Rampersad - Santé / Éducation physique

Dates / événements à venir:

  • Jeudi 27 août (7 h 8-XNUMX h XNUMX) DHMS Parent Academy via Zoom - Lien Zoom partagé dans l'e-mail
  • Mercredi 2 septembre (8h - 1h) Distribution des agendas / DHMS Gift / Survival Guide
    • Veuillez vous rendre sur l'allée DHMS à tout moment entre ces heures et nous vous remettrons un sac avec des cadeaux pour votre étudiant de Phoenix. Les étudiants qui sont NOUVEAU à APS peuvent récupérer leur iPad à ce moment.
  • Jeudi 3 septembre (9 h XNUMX) Livestream Welcome Back Assembly - Lien à venir
  • Jeudi 3 septembre (10 h) Rencontre virtuelle TA - Faites connaissance avec votre professeur d'AT et vos camarades d'AT
  • Jeudi 3 septembre (1h - 4h) Distribution des agendas / cadeau DHMS / Guide de survie
    • Deux emplacements:
      • DHMS Driveway - traversez à tout moment entre ces heures pour récupérer votre sac de friandises
      • Key Boulevard à côté de l'école primaire Key - passez chercher votre sac de friandises
  • Mardi 8 septembre (7 h 50) Les élèves rejoignent leur TA virtuellement pour le premier jour d'école!

Mise à jour technologique: Si vous et votre famille êtes nouveaux à APS cette année, nous aurons des appareils que les étudiants pourront utiliser, prêts à être récupérés le mercredi 2 septembre. Les élèves de sixième année qui ont fréquenté une école primaire APS commenceront l'année scolaire avec leur iPad actuel. Les services d'information attendent un envoi de coques iPad pour iPad de 6e année. Dès que ces appareils seront prêts, nous communiquerons un plan pour échanger votre iPad élémentaire contre votre nouvel iPad de collège. Si l'iPad de votre élève ne fonctionne pas pour une raison quelconque, veuillez compléter le demande d'aide technologique sur le site Web du DHMS sous Technologie. Mme Leon travaille actuellement sur ces demandes. Veuillez être patient. Elle répondra dès qu'elle le pourra.

Malgré des plans et des imprévus bien pensés, je suis certain qu'à différents moments de l'année, nos étudiants et notre personnel auront du mal à accéder à la technologie qui aura un impact sur la capacité à «être présent» en classe. Ayant observé les défis avec d'autres outils de vidéoconférence récemment, je pense qu'il est bon pour nous d'aider les étudiants à se préparer. Voici mes suggestions:

  • Ayez un plan avec / pour votre étudiant au cas où il ne pourrait pas se connecter. Un bon début serait pour les étudiants de redémarrer leur iPad (faire un arrêt complet et redémarrer) et vérifier la charge de l'iPad. At-il du pouvoir? La connexion électrique fonctionne-t-elle?
  • Ensuite, je leur recommande de contacter l'un de leurs camarades d'étude pour voir s'ils ont également des problèmes d'accès. Si c'est le cas, encouragez votre élève à travailler sur autre chose, ou peut-être que c'est le bon moment pour faire une pause physique - faire une promenade, etc.
  • Si les élèves peuvent toujours accéder à Canvas (le problème peut être dans MS Teams), demandez-leur de travailler sur la leçon que l'enseignant a publiée, au mieux de leurs capacités.
  • Demandez aux élèves de contacter l'enseignant via la messagerie Canvas, en l'informant de ce qui s'est passé, et l'enseignant pourra lui fournir des conseils supplémentaires.
  • S'il s'agit d'un problème régulier, veuillez compléter le demande d'aide technologique sur le site Web du DHMS sous Technologie. Notre ITC, Katherine Leon, traite ces demandes d'aide et peut contacter plus directement l'assistance.

Le plus important, peut-être, est que nous modélisons pour nos élèves comment gérer ce genre de situation stressante. Veuillez encourager les élèves à ne pas paniquer, leur rappeler que l'occasion d'apprentissage sera toujours là et les encourager à prendre quelques minutes pour se détendre et rester calmes. Je souhaite aider les élèves à apprendre à gérer ce genre de situations sans ressentir beaucoup de stress. Nous avons l'occasion d'accompagner nos étudiants dans le renforcement de la résilience face à des scénarios inattendus. Les enseignants seront à l'écoute des élèves lorsque cela se produira.

Recherchez des mises à jour régulières de Mme Leon, notre ITC, sur la technologie, les appareils et les outils que nous utilisons pour soutenir l'enseignement et l'apprentissage dans nos dépliants Phoenix réguliers.

Des horaires: Je sais que les étudiants ont hâte de découvrir qui sont leurs professeurs cette année. Les étudiants recevront une lettre par la poste américaine leur souhaitant la bienvenue pour l'année scolaire 2020-2021. Cette lettre leur indiquera l'enseignant TA (Teacher Advisor). Les étudiants sont encouragés à tester leur technologie et à rejoindre leur TA Meet and Greet le 3 septembre à 10 h. Les professeurs d'AT contacteront les élèves pour leur expliquer comment accéder à la classe. Les horaires des étudiants seront disponibles dans StudentVue et ParentVue le 4 septembre.

Merci à tous ceux qui se sont joints à nous pour notre première mairie DHMS (enregistrement posté ici). Quel bel événement - près de 300 d'entre vous étaient en ligne avec nous. Merci pour votre énergie positive. De plus, beaucoup se sont joints à notre première Académie des parents - nous avons rempli la salle Zoom (100)! Nous savons que d'autres attendaient d'entrer - consultez le enregistrement publié sur le site Internet du DHMS. Ou, veuillez vous joindre à nous pour la même session répétée le jeudi 27 août à 7 h via Zoom (les détails de la réunion et le lien seront envoyés par courriel par le PTSA).

Phoenix Flyer #3

August 26, 2020

Dear DHMS Families,

Welcome to the 20-21 school year. The Dorothy Hamm Admin Team and Counseling Department has been working over the summer months to envision and create a great learning experience for our students. While we would rather be in person, we are looking forward to seeing your youngster in our “virtual” classrooms. We learned so much last spring about how to engage our students, how to support them, and effective strategies for teaching and learning. We are excited to start this new year off with a focus on new content, working with students during “live” class periods, and supporting students to adapt and adjust social-emotionally to this new world.

I’ve included lots of information, below, to help prepare for school to begin. Our website is full of good information. Check it out.  Our main office is manned daily between 8-4 to answer your phone calls and collect or share materials. Please do not hesitate to reach out.

With excitement,
Ellen
Ellen Smith, DHMS Principal

~The Phoenix Flyer~

Our building continues to be a construction site – but if you have driven by you noticed the progress has been fantastic. This week furniture is being moved into classrooms, next week the library books are set to be delivered and shelved, and the building is getting multiple, thorough cleanings. The sidewalk for our historical commemoration walk (from Old Dominion Dr.) is in place and the metal panels with history and art are in development.  We will have a virtual celebration once this is complete.

The DHMS Staff is excited to return. Because our student population has increased, we have added many new teachers. Please join me in welcoming these awesome teachers to the Phoenix Family:

Molly Norrbom – English 6 Abigail Gwydir – Business/Comp Sci
LaPortia Banks – English 6 Savannah Lunger – Drama
Beth Malks – Social Studies 6 Crystal Moore – Equity and Excellence
Sabrina McManus – Math 6 Juanita Gibbons – English Learners
Regina Boyd – English 7 Gisela Caballero – Spanish/EL
Juan Moya Rojas – Math 7 Edgar King – American Sign Language
Elise Krueger – Science 7 Andral Hills – Exemp. Proj. Coach/Testing
Madison McSherry – Social Studies 7 Cierra Fisher – Counseling
Donald Marszalek – Science 8 Derrick Milton – Social Work Intern
Craig Rampersad – Health/Physical Education

Upcoming Dates/Events:

  • Thursday, August 27 (7 PM – 8 PM) DHMS Parent Academy via Zoom – Zoom link shared in email
  • Wednesday, September 2 (8 AM – 1 PM) Distribution of Agendas/DHMS Gift/Survival Guide
    • Please drive up the DHMS Driveway at anytime between those hours and we will hand you a bag with goodies for your Phoenix Student. Students who are NEW to APS may pick up their IPads at this time.
  • Thursday, September 3 (9 AM) Livestream Welcome Back Assembly – Link to come
  • Thursday, September 3 (10 AM) TA Virtual Meet and Greet – Get to know your TA teacher and TA classmates
  • Thursday, September 3 (1 PM – 4 PM) Distribution of Agendas/DHMS Gift/Survival Guide
    • Two Locations:
      • DHMS Driveway – drive through anytime between those hours to get your bag of goodies
      • Key Boulevard next to Key Elementary School – drive by to pick up your bag of goodies
  • Tuesday, September 8 (7:50 AM) Students join their TA Virtually for the First Day of School!

Technology Update: If you and your family are new to APS this year, we will have devices for students to use, ready for pick up on Wednesday, September 2nd.  Rising 6th graders who attended an APS Elementary School will start the school year with their current iPad. Information Services is waiting on a shipment of iPad cases for 6th grade middle school iPads. As soon as those devices are ready, we will communicate a plan for swapping your elementary iPad for your new middle School iPad. If your student’s iPad is not functioning for any reason, please complete the technology help request on the DHMS website under Technology. Ms. Leon is working through those requests now. Please be patient. She will respond as soon as she can.

Despite well-thought out plans and contingencies, I’m certain that at different points in the year our students and staff will struggle with technological access that will impact the ability to “be present” in class. Having observed the challenges with other video conferencing tools recently, I believe it is good for us to help students be prepared. Here are my suggestions:

  • Have a plan with/for your student in the event they cannot connect. A good start would be for students to restart their iPad (do a complete shut down and restart) and check the iPad’s charge. Does it have power? Is the power connection working?
  • Next, I recommend they reach out to one of their study buddies to see if they are having access issues as well. If so, encourage your student to work on something else, or perhaps this is a good time for a physical break – take a walk, etc.
  • If students can still access Canvas, (the problem might be in MS Teams) have them work through the lesson that the teacher has posted, to the best of their ability.
  • Ask students to reach out to the teacher through Canvas messaging, letting the teacher know what happened, and the teacher can provide some additional guidance.
  • If this is a regular problem, please complete the technology help request on the DHMS website under Technology. Our ITC, Katherine Leon, works through those help requests and may reach out more directly to support.

Most important, perhaps, is that we model for our students how to manage this kind of stressful situation. Please encourage students not to panic, remind them that the learning opportunity will still be there, and encourage them to take a few minutes to relax and remain calm. I want to support students in learning how to handle these kinds of situations without experiencing a lot of stress. We have an opportunity to support our students in building resiliency in the face of unexpected scenarios. Teachers will be responsive to students when this happens.

Look for regular updates from Ms. Leon, our ITC, about technology, devices, and the tools we use to support teaching and learning in our regular Phoenix Flyers.

Schedules: I know students are eager to find out who their teachers are for this year. Students will receive a letter in the U.S. mail welcoming them to the 2020-2021 school year. This letter will tell them the TA (Teacher Advisor) Teacher. Students are encouraged to test their technology and join their TA Meet and Greet on September 3 at 10 AM. TA teachers will reach out to students to communicate how to access the class. Student schedules will be available in StudentVue and ParentVue on September 4th.

Thanks to all who joined us for our first DHMS Town Hall (recording posted here). What a great event – almost 300 of you were online with us. Thanks for your positive energy. As well, many joined for our first Parent Academy – we filled the Zoom room (100)!  We know there were others waiting to get in – check out the recording posted on the DHMS website. Or, please join us for the same session repeated on Thursday, August 27 at 7 PM through Zoom (meeting details and the link will be emailed by the PTSA).