鳳凰傳單#11

1/2/2022

尊敬的DHMS家庭,

希望您度過了一個安全而輕鬆的寒假。 DHMS 團隊與我一起祝您新年快樂! 只是在孩子們明天回來之前的一條短消息——有一些事情要記住:

  • 安全性: 這種新的 Covid 變體在寒假期間影響了我們中的許多人。 在接下來的幾週內,它可能會繼續這樣做。 我的指導——
    • 如果您的孩子出現任何症狀,請不要送他們上學。
    • 每天完成 Qualtrics 篩選器。
    • 為您的孩子註冊每週一次的校內測試(或重新註冊——APS 有一個新供應商) 這裡.
    • 提醒您的學生正確且始終如一地佩戴口罩,以確保每個人的安全。
    • 期待你的學生在外面——他們應該根據天氣穿著得體。 早上放學前我們會繼續在外面等,盡量在外面吃飯,在外面上體育課。
  • 面膜 – 學生必須穿著它們,除非他們在外面或吃午飯。 孩子們很難將藍色醫用口罩戴在鼻子上。 我推薦 N95,因為它可以舒適地覆蓋鼻子和嘴巴,並為下巴的活動留出空間。 請與您的孩子一起將額外的口罩送到學校——您不知道我們已經贈送了多少。
  • 手機 - 明天開始我們的新政策 - 手機將放在儲物櫃中(關閉和離開)。 當工作人員第一次看到手機時,學生將被要求將手機放入儲物櫃。 如果這種情況反復發生,總部將保留電話直到一天結束。
  • 守時 是我們學生的一項重要技能。 我們的上課日從 7:50 開始——助教可能是學生一天中最重要的部分。 請記住,DHMS Driveway 大門在 7:46 關閉 - 任何在此之後駕車抵達的學生都應在巴士環路下車。 如果學生在 7 點 50 分後輟學,他們將在放學後花一些時間制定時間管理計劃或合同。
  • 校車 專為指定的巴士乘客而設 - 巴士不能搭載額外的乘客。

作為最後的想法——從新的一年開始——我們完全依賴與家長社區的合作,以確保我們的學生安全、做出正確的決定並從錯誤中吸取教訓。 感謝所有家長與 DHMS 團隊就您擔心的事情保持聯繫。 確實需要一個村莊來支持中學生,尤其是。 我希望學生知道並相信家長和工作人員是一個為他們的成功而努力的團隊。 請保持聯繫。

最好的,
艾倫
DHMS負責人Ellen Smith

Phoenix Flyer #11

1/2/2022

Dear DHMS Families,

I hope you have enjoyed a safe and relaxing winter break. The DHMS Team joins me in wishing you a Happy New Year! Just a short message before the kids return tomorrow – with some things to keep in mind:

  • Safety: This new Covid variant impacted many of us during the winter break.  It will likely continue to do so over the next few weeks. My guidance –
    • Please don’t send your child to school if they are experiencing any symptoms.
    • Complete the Qualtrics screener daily.
    • Register your child for weekly in-school testing (or re-register them – APS has a new vendor) here.
    • Remind your student to wear their mask correctly and consistently for everyone’s safety.
    • Expect your student to be outside – they should dress appropriately for the weather. We will continue to wait outside in the morning before school, eat outside as much as possible, and hold PE classes outside.
  • Masks – students must wear them except when they are outside or eating lunch. Kids have a hard time keeping the blue medical masks over their noses. I recommend the N95, as it comfortably covers both the nose and mouth and leaves space for jaw movement.  Please send extra masks to school with your kiddos – you have no idea how many we have given away already.
  • Cell Phones – tomorrow begins our new policy – cell phones are to be in lockers (off and away). Students will be asked to put their cell phone in their locker the first time a staff member sees it.  If this is a repeated occurrence, the main office will hold onto phones until the end of the day.
  • Being on Time is an important skill for our students. Our school day begins at 7:50 – and TA is possibly the most important part of a student’s day. Please remember that the DHMS Driveway gate closes at 7:46 – any student arriving by car after that should be dropped at the bus loop.  If a student is dropped after 7:50, they will spend some time after school developing a time management plan or contract.
  • School Buses are for assigned bus riders – no additional passengers can be taken on a bus.

As a final thought – beginning this new year – we totally depend on the collaboration with our parent community to ensure that our students are safe, making good decisions, and learning from their mistakes.  Thanks to all parents for staying in contact with the DHMS Team about things that worry you. It does take a village to support middle school students, especially. I want students to know and trust that parents and staff members are a team working for their success. Please stay in touch.

Best,
Ellen
Ellen Smith, DHMS Principal