鳳凰傳單#12

1/14/2022

親愛的鳳凰家庭,

我很高興看到您的學生回到校園,拜訪朋友,與老師互動,並專注於學習。 上週,我幾乎每一個助教都會停下來打招呼,並提醒學生我們對手機、戴口罩和乘坐公共汽車的重置期望(見 2 月 XNUMX 日鳳凰傳單)! 我們的學生對這些提醒非常積極——他們表示理解這些指導方針的目標是確保每個人的安全。 我非常感謝您對此的幫助!

本週的鳳凰傳單包括一些要與您的中學生談論的事情、一些即將發生的事件以及一些關於司機/行人行動的指導。

  • 課程信息會議: 輔導員將於 27 月 6 日星期四下午 30:XNUMX 舉行課程信息會議。 請與您學生的年級輔導員一起參加這些虛擬會議,以了解學術規劃過程、下一年級的必修課和選修課,以及提交課程申請的時間表。 我建議你的學生也參加。 這些會議將被記錄並發佈在 DHMS 網站上。
  • 口罩分佈:  學監為每位學生購買了 KN95 口罩。 這些將在 1 年 18 月 XNUMX 日星期二在 TA 中分發。 最安全的口罩應該輕輕但緊緊地貼合學生的鼻子和嘴巴。
  • 監控您孩子的社交媒體帳戶:   學生們在課餘時間和周末使用社交媒體相互交流。 也許是因為(錯誤的)隱私或匿名感,許多學生在這些聊天中使用不恰當和粗俗的語言,互相說他們永遠不會當面說的話,並且通常是不尊重的。 這些事件通常會在學校產生影響。 請與您的學生討論他們參與社交媒體的情況,監控他們的賬戶,並提醒他們在網上發布某些內容時不存在隱私。
  • 安全提示:  請提醒學生,任何可能的武器或吸毒用具(如小刀(甚至是小折刀)或打火機)都不允許在學校財產中使用。
  • 準時到達:  感謝大家齊心協力讓您的學生提前幾分鐘上學。 我們看到了進步! 請記住,DHMS 車道將在早上 7:46 左右關閉。 在此時間之後駕車抵達的學生應從巴士環路外進入一號門! 多次遲到的學生將被要求在放學後留下來製定新計劃!
  • 23rd St. 或 Vacation Lane 禁止學生下車: 上週,我們看到第 23 街(雙向)和假期巷的學生下車人數有所增加,汽車和行人之間出現了一些“未遂事故”。 因為沒有人行道 23街,不是 一個安全的地方放下你的學生。 同樣, 不要停在度假巷的任何地方 放下你的學生。 DHMS 車道是理想的選擇,Lorcom Lane 和 Military Road 都有供司機停車和下車的空間。  需要一個成功下車的策略嗎?  讓您的學生遠離建築物。 散步對他們有好處 - 它讓他們昏昏欲睡的青春期血液流動!

Phoenix Flyer #12

1/14/2022

Dear Phoenix Families,

I have been so delighted to see your students back on campus, visiting with friends, engaging with their teachers, and focused on learning. I stopped into almost every TA last week to say hello and remind students about our reset expectations for cell phones, mask wearing, and bus riding (see January 2nd Phoenix Flyer)! Our students have been very positive about these reminders – and they have expressed understanding that the goal of these guidelines is to keep everyone safe. I do appreciate your help with this!

This week’s Phoenix Flyer includes some things to talk to your middle school student about, some upcoming events, and some guidance about drivers/pedestrian actions.

  • Course Information Sessions: Counselors will be presenting Course Information Sessions on Thursday, January 27th at 6:30 PM.  Please join these virtual sessions with your student’s grade level counselor to learn about the academic planning process, required and elective classes for the next grade level, and the timeline for submitting course requests.  I recommend that your student attend as well.  These sessions will be recorded and posted on the DHMS Website.
  • Mask distribution:  The Superintendent has purchased KN95 masks for every student.  These will be distributed in TA on Tuesday, 1/18.  The safest masks should fit gently, but tightly, around the student’s nose and mouth.
  • Monitor your child’s social media accounts:   Students are using social media to interact with each other outside of school hours and on the weekends.  Perhaps because of the (false) sense of privacy or anonymity, many students are using inappropriate and foul language in these chats, saying things to each other they would never say in person, and generally being disrespectful.  These incidences often have repercussions that play out in school.  Please talk to your student about their involvement in social media, monitor their accounts, and remind them that there is no expectation of privacy when something is posted online.
  • Safety Reminder:  Please remind students that any potential weapon or drug paraphernalia (like a knife (even a small pocketknife) or a lighter) is not allowed on school property, ever.
  • On-time arrival:  Thanks to all for making a concerted effort to get your students to school a few minutes earlier.  We have seen an improvement!  Remember, the DHMS Driveway will close at approximately 7:46 AM.  Students who arrive by car after that time should enter Door One off the bus loop!  Students who repeatedly arrive late will be asked to stay after school to create a new plan!
  • No Student Drop Off on 23rd St. or Vacation Lane: Last week we saw an increase in student drop-offs on 23rd Street (in both directions) and Vacation Lane and a number of “near misses” between cars and pedestrians.  Because there is no sidewalk on 23rd St., it is NOT a safe place to drop your students.  As well, DO NOT stop anywhere on Vacation Lane to drop off your student.  The DHMS Driveway is ideal, and Lorcom Lane has space for drivers to pull over and drop, as does Military Road.  Need a STRATEGY for drop off success?  Drop your student further away from the building.  The walk is good for them – it gets their sleepy, adolescent blood moving!