鳳凰傳單#4

9/18/2021

下午好,鳳凰家庭 - 本週我一直在幫助我 22 歲的女兒收拾房間,為搬到西班牙長達一年的生活做準備。 她很興奮,我也很興奮,但是當我們清理壁櫥並清除了比我想像的更多的毛絨玩具時,我不禁想起她的中學時代以及此後的歲月過得有多快。現在,回顧我女兒的青春期並考慮她向年輕成年的轉變,這真是太神奇了——有幾年我不確定她的青春期是否會結束。 但是,它已經實現了,現在她獨立地開始培養她的西班牙語技能,獲得一些工作和生活經驗,並決定她將如何回饋世界。 在家享受您的年輕人,隨著時間的流逝,他們很快也會冒險進入這個世界。

本週的傳單分享了有關圖片日、Covid 測試、步行/騎自行車指導、有關我們建築的知識以及影響全國學校(包括 DHMS)的 TikTok 趨勢的信息。

  • DHMS 圖片日是 9 月 24 日星期五和 9 月 27 日星期一。 學生將通過他們的體育課拍照。 化妝照片將在十月拍攝。
  • 選擇加入 Covid 測試已在 DHMS 開始,週三早上 7:30 – 9:30。 雖然我們的目標是讓學生進出,但事實是已經有 180 多名學生和教職員工報名參加,而且會有一些等待。 學生可以在 7:30 到 7:45 之間來接受測試,或者他們的助教老師會在指定的時間等待他們的通行證。 學生將錯過一些助教和/或第一階段。
  • 請提醒您的自行車騎手在騎行時佩戴頭盔並遵守所有交通規則。 一旦他們進入學校財產,學生應該  他們的自行車到自行車架。 下午的期望是一樣的。
  • 建築物的每一層(以及建築物的每一端)都有灌裝機。 我鼓勵您的學生攜帶一個水瓶並定期加水,尤其是在天氣持續溫暖的情況下。
  • DHMS 的每一層都有兩個獨立的洗手間(男孩和女孩)。 此外,最靠近 13 號門和 Aux Gym 的是一組向任何人開放的浴室隔間。 浴室的左側標有男孩——右側標有男孩/女孩,並設有三個獨立的隔間以保護學生隱私。 請與您的孩子討論這些選擇。

最後,我想請您花一些時間與您的學生談論社交媒體平台 TikTok 上的病毒性模因。 該模因要求學生以某種方式破壞他們的學校建築,並在 TikTok 上進行宣傳。 上週,我們在 DHMS 經歷了一些這種破壞行為,並請求您的幫助,以確保我們的學生了解破壞學校財產的嚴重性。 特別值得關注的是——學生們在我們的浴室裡撕毀和偷走了皂液器。 所有學生和教職員工都需要能夠有效地洗手。 DHMS 工作人員將繼續密切監測受影響的地區。 請提醒我們的學生不要參與此類行為,並在他們聽說或目睹事件時與工作人員分享信息。

保存日期:

21 月 4 日下午 7 點至 22 點和 8 月 XNUMX 日中午 XNUMX 點是家長/教師/學生會議。 您的助教老師將在 XNUMX 月初與您聯繫,提供更多信息以及選擇虛擬授課時間的機會。

即將舉行的日期:21 月 XNUMX 日 – PTSA 會議
29 月 11 日 - 提前發布日 - 54:XNUMX 解僱
4 月 XNUMX 日 - 第一次虛擬家長聊天
11 月 XNUMX 日 - 學生不上學
19 月 XNUMX 日 – PTSA 會議
21 月 22 日(下午)和 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日(上午)——家長/教師/學生會議
27 月 11 日 - 提前發布日 - 54:XNUMX 解僱

Phoenix Flyer #4

9/18/2021

Good afternoon, Phoenix Families – this week I’ve been helping my 22-year-old daughter pack up her room in preparation for a year-long move to Spain. She’s totally excited, and I am as well, but as we cleaned out closets and got rid of more stuffed animals than I could count, I couldn’t help thinking about her middle school years and how quickly the years since have passed.It is amazing, now, to look back on my daughter’s adolescence and consider her transformation into young adulthood – there were a few years where I wasn’t sure her adolescence was going to end.  But, it has, and now she heads off independently to build her Spanish skills, gain some work and life experience, and determine how she will give back to the world. Enjoy your young people at home, as time flies, and soon they too will be adventuring off into the world.

This week’s flyer shares information on Picture Days, Covid Testing, walking/biking guidance, things to know about our building, and a TikTok trend that is impacting schools nationwide (DHMS included).

  • DHMS Picture Days are Friday, 9/24 and Monday, 9/27.  Students will take pictures through their PE classes. Make up pictures will be taken in October.
  • Opt-In Covid Testing has begun at DHMS, Wednesday mornings 7:30 – 9:30. While our goal is to get students in and out, the fact is that over 180 students and staff members have signed up for this, and there will be some waiting. Students can come between 7:30 – 7:45 to get tested, or their TA teacher will have a pass waiting for them with their assigned time on it. Students will miss some of TA and/or First Period.
  • Please remind your bike riders to wear helmets as they ride and follow all traffic rules.  Once they are on school property, students should walk their bike to the bike racks.  The expectations are the same in the afternoon.
  • There are bottle fillers on every level of the building (and on each end of the building). I encourage your students to carry a water bottle and fill it regularly, especially as the weather continues to be warm.
  • There are two separate restrooms (boys and girls) on every floor of DHMS. Additionally, closest to Door 13 and the Aux Gym there is a set of bathroom stalls that are open to anyone. The left side of the bathroom is labeled boys – the right side is labelled boys/girls and has three separate stalls for student privacy. Please discuss these options with your youngsters.

Finally, I would like to ask that you take some time to talk to your students about a viral meme on the social media platform TikTok. The meme asks students to vandalize their school building in some way and promote this on TikTok. We have experienced some of this vandalism at DHMS this past week and ask for your help to make sure our students understand the seriousness of vandalism on school property. Of particular concern – students have ripped down and stolen soap dispensers in our bathrooms. All students and staff need to be able to wash their hands effectively. The DHMS Staff will continue to monitor the impacted areas closely. Please remind our students not to engage in this type of behavior and to share information with a staff member if they hear of or witness an event.

Save the date:

October 21 from 4-7 PM and October 22 from 8-Noon are Parent/Teacher/Student Conferences.  Your TA teacher will reach out in early October with more information and an opportunity to select a time to confer virtually.

Upcoming Dates:September 21 – PTSA Meeting
September 29 – Early Release Day – Dismissal at 11:54
October 4 – First Virtual Parent Chat
October 11 – No School for Students
October 19 – PTSA Meeting
October 21 (PM) and October 22 (AM) – Parent/Teacher/Student Conferences
October 27 – Early Release Day – Dismissal at 11:54