鳳凰傳單#7

二零二一年十月三十日

親愛的 DHMS 鳳凰家庭,

本週的創造力、熱情和學校精神如此強大——我們的學生將“一周一個 DHMS”銘記於心,每天都在慶祝! 感謝您在此次籌款活動中支持我們學校。 如果你還沒有機會——六年級學生處於領先地位,我最後一次聽說……以下是詳細信息:

今天是最後一天 一星期一DHMS 慶祝通過鳳凰基金籌款活動展示我們的學校精神和#DHMS 支持。 還有時間捐款! 全班和 TA 比賽仍然處於危險之中。 現在捐贈在 https://t.co/thMIvQVepy  or  https://t.co/ycsITBXEcQ

本期信息很多:

安全的上學路線 – 請查看您的學生到學校的步行路線。 兩名關心此事的社區成員已經就學生在隨機地點穿過快速而危險的道路,而不是在人行橫道或紅綠燈處奔跑的情況進行了調查。 有人看到學生穿過 N. Thomas Street 的 Old Dominion Dr.,以及 N. Quincy Street 的 Lorcom Lane。 請提醒我們的學生,他們應該在人行橫道處或有過馬路警衛或紅綠燈的情況下穿過十字路口。 這兩個地方的交通都非常快——司機不希望學生衝上馬路。

人事變動—— 我很高興地告訴您,我們在填補一些我們需要的職位方面取得了一些成功。 請祝賀 Regina Boyd 女士——她將成為天才兒童的 DHMS 資源教師。 博伊德女士目前正在教 7 年級和 8 年級的英語——在我們找到她的替代者之前,她將一直留在這裡。 我們聘請了許多教學助理來支持課堂教學——歡迎加入我們出色的教學助理團隊,Alfred Reid、Candace Barnes、Dawn Daley、Sunita Tamang。

公平卓越團隊組建 – 問候 – 我是格倫博士,您在 DHMS 的新股權和卓越協調員。 工作人員、學生、家長或社區成員……您的聲音很重要; 我很樂意與您一起工作,因為我們在 Dorothy Hamm 中學建立了卓越的公平性。 如果您有興趣成為 DHMS 股權團隊的一員,請通過以下方式填寫興趣表 November 12, 2021。 點擊 此鏈接 訪問興趣表。

正在崛起的九年級家長—— 對於我們八年級的學生來說,高中就在拐角處! 是時候收集信息並確定學生的選擇了。 請參加 1 月 7 日星期一晚上 00:XNUMX 的高中信息之夜。 今年的活動將是虛擬的,家庭將能夠在 DHMS 網站上訪問該活動。

VLP 系列 – 我們想念您——並希望確保您和您的 DHMS 學生保持聯繫。 請加入我們的 PTSA 以確保在學年期間訪問關鍵信息——此外,請讓您的 DHMS 學生聯繫 Ellen.Smith@apsva.us 讓我知道哪個 俱樂部 他們可能有興趣虛擬參加。

DHMS 秋季電影之夜 – 由個人發展班和我們的 FCCLA 俱樂部贊助。 我們邀請家庭於 5 月 5 日星期五下午 30:XNUMX 在 DHMS 足球場與我們一起享用小吃和看電影。 學生必須在家長或監護人的陪同下參加。 請攜帶不易腐爛的食品捐贈 - 部分收益將捐贈給 AFAC。 查看 DHMS 網頁了解更多詳情。 一如既往——非常感謝您的合作和支持。

有一個美好的周末。

最好的,
艾倫

  • 1 月 XNUMX 日 - 第一季度的最後一天
  • 2 月 XNUMX 日 - 學生不上課(年級準備日)
  • 4 月 XNUMX 日 - 學生不上課(排燈節)
  • 5 月 5 日 – DHMS 電影之夜 @30:XNUMX
  • 8 月 XNUMX 日 – DHMS 家長英語聊天(虛擬)
  • 11 月 XNUMX 日 - 學生不上學(退伍軍人節)
  • 24 月 26 日至 XNUMX 日 - 學生不上課(感恩節)

Phoenix Flyer #7

October 29, 2021

Dear DHMS Phoenix Families,

The creativity, enthusiasm, and school spirit has been so strong this week – our students have taken to heart the “One Week, One DHMS” and celebrated every day!  Thank you for supporting our school in this fundraiser.  If you haven’t had a chance – the sixth graders were in the lead, last I heard…here are the details:

Today is the last day of the One Week One DHMS celebration to show our school spirit and #DHMS support through the Phoenix Fund fundraiser. There is still time to donate! The class-wide and TA competitions are still at stake. Donate now at https://t.co/thMIvQVepy  or  https://t.co/ycsITBXEcQ

Lots if information in this issue:

Safe Routes to School – Please review your student’s walking route to school. Two concerned community members have reached out about students running across fast and dangerous roads at random points, rather than at crosswalks or traffic lights. Students have been seen crossing Old Dominion Dr. at N. Thomas Street, as well as Lorcom Lane at N. Quincy Street. Please remind our students that they are expected to cross intersections at a crosswalk or with a crossing guard or traffic light.  At both of these locations the traffic is moving very fast – and drivers are not expecting students to dart into the road.

Personnel Changes – I’m delighted to let you know that we have had some success in filling a few of the positions that we have needed.  Please congratulate Ms. Regina Boyd – who will become the DHMS Resource Teacher for the Gifted.  Ms. Boyd is currently teaching 7th and 8th grade English – and will remain in that spot until we have found her replacement.  We have hired a number of instructional assistants to support classrooms – please welcome, Alfred Reid, Candace Barnes, Dawn Daley, Sunita Tamang, who join our amazing Instructional Assistants Team.

Equity and Excellence Team forming – Greetings – I’m Dr. Glenn, your new Equity and Excellence Coordinator at DHMS. Staff member, student, parent, or community member… YOUR VOICE MATTERS; and I would love to work with you as we build equity in excellence at Dorothy Hamm Middle School. If you are interested in being a part of the DHMS equity team please complete the interest form by November 12, 2021. Click this link to access the interest form.

Rising Ninth Grade Parents – High School is right around the corner for our eighth graders!  Time to gather information and determine your student’s options.  Please attend High School Information Night on Monday, November 1 at 7:00 PM.  The event will be virtual this year and families will be able to access the event on the DHMS website.

VLP Families – We miss you – and want to make sure you and your DHMS student stay connected. Please join our PTSA to ensure access to key information during the school year – as well, please have your DHMS student reach out to Ellen.Smith@apsva.us to let me know which clubs they might be interested in attending virtually.

DHMS Fall Movie Night – Sponsored by the Individual Development Class and our FCCLA Club. Families are invited to join us for snacks and a movie on Friday, November 5, at 5:30 PM on the DHMS Soccer Field.  Students must attend with a parent or guardian. Please bring a non-perishable food item to donate – part of the proceeds will be donated to AFAC.  Check the DHMS Web page for more details. As always – your collaboration and support are much appreciated.

Have a wonderful weekend.

Best,
Ellen

  • November 1 – Last day of first quarter
  • November 2 – No School for Students (Grade Prep Day)
  • November 4 – No School for Students (Diwali)
  • November 5 – DHMS Movie Night @5:30
  • November 8 – DHMS Parent Chat in English (Virtual)
  • November 11 – No School for Students (Veteran’s Day)
  • November 24-26 – No School for Students (Thanksgiving)