鳳凰傳單#8

11-13-2021

親愛的神話般的鳳凰家庭——

真的是十一月中旬嗎? 我總是對第一季度過得如此之快感到驚訝——尤其是今年,我們的開始日期更早! 當您玩得開心時,時間過得飛快,讓我們鳳凰城的學生回到大樓裡也很有趣——學習、成長並重新適應成為更大的學者社區的一部分。

在第二季度的早期,最好讓您的 DHMS 學生反思第一季度的進展情況 - 並提醒他們在學生主導的會議上設定的目標。 他們需要什麼支持? 他們可能需要向哪位老師尋求支持? 他們正在努力改善哪些自我管理習慣? 這些對話要求學生反思並為他們的學習和成就負責。 助教老師也將繼續定期進行這些對話!

APS 學生服務部發布每月通訊 – 本月通訊分享有關本月 SEL 重點的信息:社會意識。 一探究竟 這裡.

Covid 更新/提醒 –

  • 每週三早上 7:30 到 9:30 在 DHMS 進行測試。 請記住,只有在 Covid 測試呈陽性時才會與您聯繫。
  • 隨著我們進入更冷、更潮濕的天氣——請與您的學生討論您對他們在哪裡吃午餐的期望。 我們將在裡面開放兩個地方供學生用餐(自助餐廳和健身房); 此外,我們的戶外午餐空間將始終可用。 請確保您的孩子了解您希望他們在哪裡吃飯。
  • Covid 接觸者追踪/隔離——我們在 DHMS 的 Covid 陽性病例略有增加——不得不隔離(一些多次)的學生人數很多。 請注意,如果您的孩子是密切接觸者,老師會在他們的 Canvas 頁面上發布針對被隔離學生的指南。 對於某些課程,學生將能夠通過實時團隊會議鏈接加入課程。 對於其他人,作業和期望將被發布,學生將需要自己完成這些。 您的孩子應該聯繫他們的老師,讓他們知道他們在家工作並保持聯繫。

榮譽:祝賀 Allen 女士的獨立生活班(第 6 期)上週舉辦了一場精彩的電影之夜。 學生們學到的有關計劃、廣告、實施和結束這樣的活動的課程非常棒。 儘管天氣寒冷,但每個人似乎都玩得很開心。 我們的新爆米花機大受歡迎!

祝我們出色且敬業的學校心理學家 Brooke Zeller 女士全國學校心理學家週快樂(上週)。 今年,我們由輔導員、社會工作者和心理學家組成的學生支持團隊可能比以往任何時候都更加為學生提供重要支持,並為家庭和教職員工提供指導。 您將在 IEP 會議和/或學生學習會議上以及每天在我們學校大樓周圍與學生互動時遇到 Zeller 女士。 謝謝你所做的一切,澤勒女士! 希望大家都喜歡這個週末涼爽的天氣

最好的,
艾倫
埃倫·史密斯(Ellen Smith),校長

即將到來的重要日期: 

  • 24 月 26 日至 XNUMX 日 - 學生不上課(感恩節)
  • 1 月 7 日至 XNUMX 日 - DHMS 書展
  • 6 月 XNUMX 日 – 家長聊天 – 英文
  • 7 月 XNUMX 日 - 冬季管弦樂團音樂會
  • 8 月 XNUMX 日 - 學生提前釋放日
  • 9 月 XNUMX 日 – 冬季樂隊音樂會
  • 13 月 XNUMX 日 – 家長聊天 – 西班牙語
  • 15 月 XNUMX 日 – 冬季合唱音樂會
  • 20月3日– XNUMX月XNUMX日–寒假

Phoenix Flyer #8

11-13-2021

Dear Fabulous Phoenix Families –

Is it really the middle of November?  I am always amazed at how quickly the first quarter goes by – especially this year with our earlier start date!  Time flies when you are having fun, and it has been fun to have our Phoenix students back in the building – learning, growing, and reacclimating to being part of a larger community of scholars.

Early on in Second Quarter, it’s good to ask your DHMS students to reflect on how the first quarter went – and remind them of the goals that they set at their student-led conference.  What supports do they need?  Which teacher might they need to reach out to for some support?  What self-management habits are they working on improving?  These conversations ask the student to reflect on and take ownership for their learning and their achievement.  The TA teacher will continue to have these conversations regularly as well!

APS Student Services Department publishes a monthly newsletter – This month’s newsletter shares information on the SEL focus for this month: Social Awareness. Check it out here.

Covid Updates/Reminders –

  • Testing occurs at DHMS on Wednesday mornings between 7:30 and 9:30 AM.  Remember, you will only be contacted in the event of a positive Covid Test.
  • As we move into colder and wetter weather – please discuss with your student your expectations regarding where they eat lunch.  We will have two locations open inside for students to eat (Cafeteria and a gym); as well, our outdoor lunch space will always be available.  Please make sure your child understands where you expect them to eat.
  • Covid Contact Tracing/Quarantine – We have experienced a slight increase in Covid positive cases at DHMS – and the number of students who have had to quarantine (some multiple times) is large. Please know if your child is a close contact, teachers will post on their Canvas page the guidelines for students who are quarantined. For some classes, students will be able to join the class through a live Teams Meeting link. For others, assignments and expectations will be posted and students will be expected to work through these on their own. Your child should reach out to their teachers to let them know they are working from home and stay in contact.

Kudos: Congratulations to Ms. Allen’s Independent Living Class (Period 6) who put on a great Movie Night last week. The lessons students learned about planning, advertising, implementing, and wrapping up an event like this were fabulous. Despite the chilly weather, everyone seemed to have a great time. Our new popcorn maker was a huge hit!

Happy National School Psychologist Week (last week) to our amazing and dedicated school psychologist, Ms. Brooke Zeller. This year, perhaps more than ever, our Student Support Team of counselors, social workers, and psychologist provide vital supports for students – and guidance for families and staff.  You will meet Ms. Zeller in IEP meetings and/or student study meetings – as well as around our school building interacting with students daily.  Thanks for all you do, Ms. Zeller!   Hope you all enjoy the chillier weather this weekend

Best,
Ellen
Ellen Smith, Principal

Upcoming Important Dates: 

  • November 24-26 – No School for Students (Thanksgiving)
  • December 1 – 7 – Book Fair at DHMS
  • December 6 – Parent Chat – in English
  • December 7 – Winter Orchestra Concert
  • December 8 – Early Release Day for Students
  • December 9 – Winter Band Concert
  • December 13 – Parent Chat – in Spanish
  • December 15 – Winter Chorus Concert
  • December 20 – January 3 – Winter Break