الأحداث والفرص القادمة

الذكرى MSAN

شبكة تحصيل طلاب الأقليات (MSAN) تعاونية العدالة الاجتماعية المتقاطعة يدعو طلاب المدارس الإعدادية والثانوية من الولايات المتحدة للاجتماع شهريًا للمشاركة في تجربة تنمية القيادات الشبابية المتكاملة للعدالة الاجتماعية ، والتي تبلغ ذروتها في معرض أبحاث العدالة الاجتماعية على مستوى الشبكة في نهاية البرنامج.

شارك طالب من كل مدرسة متوسطة وثانوية في APS في هذا التعاون في مجال العدالة الاجتماعية ، حيث تمت مناقشة مواضيع مختلفة كل شهر. اجتمعت المجموعة من أكتوبر إلى أبريل. قدمت المدارس و / أو المناطق في الجلسة الأخيرة خطة عمل الإنصاف الخاصة بهم. SC2021- شعار-بنفسجي

قرر طلاب APS العمل بشكل تعاوني كمنطقة لمشروعهم المسمى APS Student Collaborative Equity Action Plan. قام الطالبان في المدرسة الإعدادية من دوروثي هام بتصميم الموقع. ساهم جميع الطلاب بالمعلومات للموقع. توفر الصفحة الرئيسية النطاق العام للمشروع بالإضافة إلى الموارد. توفر صفحة الملاحظات روابط استطلاع للمعلمين والطلاب لتقديم ملاحظات حول مختلف الموضوعات والطرق التي يمكن من خلالها تحسين منطقتنا. يوجد أيضًا مقطع فيديو لتقديم منظور الطالب. لعرض خطة عمل الإنصاف التعاوني للطلاب APS اضغط على الرابط.

 

لا مكان للكراهية 

DHMS لا تكسب أي مكان لتصنيفها على أنها تحض على الكراهية لعام 2021-22

شعار "لا مكان للكراهية"يسعدني أن أعلن أن مدرسة Dorothy Hamm Middle School قد حصلت رسميًا على تصنيف "لا مكان للكراهية" للعام الدراسي 2021-2022! تهانينا!!!

سمحت لنا هذه المبادرة بتسهيل المحادثات مع طلابنا حول التمثيل والهوية وطرق الاحتفال وإبراز اختلافاتنا. دعونا نستمر في جعل مجتمع مدرستنا مكانًا آمنًا ومرحبًا للجميع.

 

مايو 2022- نشاط على مستوى المدرسة NPFH

شعار "لا مكان للكراهية"

نظمت إدارة الصحة والخدمات الطبية أول نشاط لنا على مستوى المدرسة بعنوان "لا مكان للكراهية". اختار الطلاب أعضاء اللجنة التركيز على الهوية والثقافة ، مما سمح بإجراء مناقشة حول أوجه التشابه والاختلاف بين الناس وأهمية احترام تلك الاختلافات. بدأ الحدث على مستوى المدرسة يوم الاثنين ، 16 مايو 2022 خلال وجبات الغداء مع الطلاب الذين استجابوا للمطالبة ، "أنا ..." وقد أتاح هذا النشاط الفرصة للطلاب والموظفين لمشاركة كيفية تعريفهم بأنفسهم.

عُقد الجزء الثاني من الحدث على مستوى المدرسة يوم الخميس 19 مايو 2022 خلال TA ، حيث شاهد الطلاب مقطع فيديو قصيرًا حول الهوية وناقشوا الاختلافات التي لدينا جميعًا وكيفية احترامها والاحتفال بها. انتهى النشاط بالفصل الدراسي و / أو التفكير الفردي (مثل إنشاء خطوات عمل لاحترام / الاحتفال بالآخرين ، والوجبات السريعة الشخصية من المناقشة ، وتعديل خرائط هويتهم من بداية العام).

بشكل عام ، كان نشاطًا تأمليًا رائعًا. سمح لنا هذا النشاط بالإقرار بمكاننا في العملية حتى نتمكن من اتخاذ الإجراءات والتعرف على الاختلافات داخل مجتمع DHMS الخاص بنا واحترامها.

NPFH أنا نشاط 16 مايو

 

أبريل 2022- نشاط تعهد NPFH

في يوم الإثنين ، 4 أبريل والثلاثاء ، 5 أبريل ، عقدت وزارة الأمن الداخلي في دبي توقيعًا لمدة يومين على تعهد عدم وجود مكان للكراهية (NPFH) خلال فترة TA. حتى الآن وقع 2 أشخاص على التعهد الذي يشمل 908 طالبًا و 872 موظفًا ووالدين. قم بإلقاء نظرة على عرض بطاقات التعهد الموقعة والموجودة أمام المدرسة بجانب الباب الرئيسي.

عرض تعهد DHMS-NPFH

 

مارس 2022- طرح NPFH على مستوى المدرسة

تعمل TA الخاصة بالبث مع الدكتور جلين في الجهود المبذولة لنشر "لا مكان للكراهية" في DHMS. نحن متحمسون للتعاون معها! تحقق من المقابلة مع الدكتور جلين لمعرفة المزيد عن هذا البرنامج وكيفية المشاركة. بمساعدتك ، سنجعل مجتمع مدرستنا مكانًا آمنًا ومرحبًا للجميع.

 

إحياء ذكرى تاريخية لـ DHMS

الأربعاء 2 فبرايرصور-1

يعمل برنامج TA الخاص بالبث مع الدكتور جلين في الذكرى السنوية للذكرى التاريخية لـ DHMS في الثاني من فبراير بالإضافة إلى شهر التاريخ الأسود ولا مكان للكراهية. نحن متحمسون للتعاون معها!

سيتضمن عرضنا هذا الأسبوع:

  • مقابلة مع مايكل جونز ، أحد الطلاب الذين دمجوا ستراتفورد جونيور
  • قطعة في حي هولز هيل
  • مقطع فيديو عن تاريخ 2 فبراير 1959 والطرق التي قمنا من خلالها بدمج هذا التاريخ في بنايتنا (اللوحة الجدارية في الطابق الأول والممر التذكاري)

بالنسبة لبقية شهر تاريخ السود ، ستركز كل مجموعة في TA على حي تاريخي للسود في أرلينغتون. يمكن العثور على روابط لجميع العروض أدناه.

 

مجموعة SOAR في يوركتاون

لقطة الشاشة في 2022 02-10-9.34.24 AMإذا كنت طالبًا صاعدًا بالصف التاسع من BIPOC (أسود ، من السكان الأصليين الملونين) وستلتحق بمدرسة يوركتاون الثانوية ، فقد يكون هذا البرنامج فرصة رائعة لك. مجموعة SOAR:

  • موجهة نحو طلاب BIPOC الذين سيقدرون أو يستفيدون من مجموعة تقارب متماسكة
  • يركز على تطوير المهارات الأكاديمية اللازمة لدورات المستوى المتقدم والكلية ، ومهارات القيادة ، والنمو العاطفي الاجتماعي
  • إذا كان الطلاب يغادرون برنامج EL ، فيمكن أن تكون SOAR بمثابة دعم كبير لهم أثناء انتقالهم إلى فصول لا تتعلق ببرنامج EL.

يرجى الاطلاع على المرفق  نشرة SOAR  لمزيد من المعلومات حول SOAR.

الفعاليات السابقة

تحميل-1

تطبيق ومعلومات Arlington Tech

  • تطبيق الموعد النهائي هو 21 يناير 2022 الساعة 4 مساءً.
  • انقر هنا لعرض تفاصيل حول البرنامج والتطبيق.
  • نشرة إعلامية لشركة Arlington Tech (الانجليزية()إسباني)

 

 

2 ديسمبر، 2021
قام Shani King ، مؤلف كتاب Have I Ever Told You Black Lives Matter ، بزيارة طلابنا افتراضيًا وشاركنا كتابه الجديد. يحتفل الكتاب بإنجازات العديد من الرجال والنساء السود المهمين في العلوم والسياسة والقيادة والفنون وغير ذلك.

هل أخبرتك من قبل أن الحياة السوداء تهم غلاف الكتاب

 

6 نوفمبر، 2020
قامت الكاتبة La-Donia Alford-Jefferies من برنامج Homecoming بزيارة DHMS لمناقشة تطوير الكتابة وتجربة HBCU.

مؤلفة مع كتاب العودة للوطن

 

 

 

 

 

بصفتها أستاذًا مساعدًا ، تعمل La-Donia Alford-Jefferies على تثقيف الطلاب حول أهمية الكليات والجامعات السوداء التاريخية كل يوم. تخرجت من جامعة ولاية كارولينا الشمالية A&T وموطنها الأصلي جرينسبورو بولاية نورث كارولينا. مع والدتها أستاذة سابقة في HBCU لمدة 40 عامًا ووالدها خريج جامعة ولاية كارولينا الشمالية A&T ، ولدت La-Donia حقًا في Aggie ، ولدت Aggie. ألهمها زوجها مايكل وابنتاها لكتابة كتاب عن تجارب عودتهم إلى الوطن كعائلة.

Upcoming Events and Opportunities

MSAN-Anniversary

Minority Student Achievement Network (MSAN) Intersectional Social Justice Collaborative invites both middle and high school students from the U.S. to meet monthly to participate in an integrated social justice youth leadership development experience, culminating in a network-wide social justice action research fair at the end of the program.

A student from each middle and high school in APS participated in this social justice collaborative, where various topics were discussed each month. The group met from October to April. The last session schools and/ or districts presented their Equity Action Plan. SC2021-logo-purple

APS students decided to work collaboratively as a district for their project, entitled APS Student Collaborative Equity Action Plan. The 2 middle school students from Dorothy Hamm designed the website. All students contributed information for the site. The homepage provides the overall scope of the project along with resources. The feedback page provides survey links for teachers and students to give feedback on various topics and ways for our district to improve. There is also a video to provide a student perspective. To view APS Student Collaborative Equity Action Plan click the link.

 

No Place for Hate 

DHMS Earns No Place for Hate Designation for 2021-22

No Place for Hate logoI am pleased to announce that Dorothy Hamm Middle School has officially earned No Place for Hate designation for the 2021-2022 school year! Congratulations!!!

This initiative has allowed us to facilitate conversations with our students about representation, identity, and ways to celebrate and highlight our differences. Let’s continue to make our school community a safe and welcoming space for all.

 

May 2022- NPFH School-wide Activity

No Place for Hate logo

DHMS had our first No Place for Hate school-wide activity. The student members of the committee chose to focus on Identity and Culture, which allowed for a discussion around the similarities and differences between people and the importance of respecting those differences. The school-wide event commenced on Monday, May 16, 2022 during lunches with students responding to the prompt, “I AM…” This activity provided the opportunity for students and staff to share how they identify themselves.

The second part of the school-wide event was held Thursday, May 19, 2022 during TA, where students watched a short video about identity and discussed the differences we all have and how to respect and celebrate them. The activity ended with class and/ or individual reflection (such as create action steps to respect/ celebrate others, personal takeaways from discussion, modify their identity maps from the beginning of the year).

Overall, it was a great reflective activity. This activity allowed us to acknowledge where we are in the process so that we can take action, recognize, and respect the differences within our DHMS community.

NPFH I am Activity May 16

 

April 2022- NPFH Pledge Activity

On Monday, April 4th and Tuesday, April 5th DHMS had a 2 day signing of the No Place for Hate (NPFH) pledge during TA. To date 908 people have signed the pledge which includes 872 students, 34 staff members, and 2 parents. Take a look at the display of the signed pledge cards that is in the front of school by main door.

DHMS-NPFH pledge display

 

March 2022- NPFH School-wide Rollout

Our Broadcast TA has been working with Dr. Glenn in efforts to roll out No Place for Hate at DHMS. We’re excited to collaborate with her! Check out the interview with Dr. Glenn to learn more about this program and how to get involved. With your help, we will make our school community a safe and welcoming space for all.

 

DHMS Historical Commemoration

Wednesday, February 2ndimages-1

Our Broadcast TA has been working with Dr. Glenn on the anniversary of DHMS’ historical commemoration on February 2nd as well as Black History Month and No Place for Hate. We’re excited to collaborate with her!

This week, our show will feature:

  • an interview with Michael Jones, one of the students who integrated Stratford Junior High
  • a segment on the Halls Hill neighborhood
  • a video about the history of February 2, 1959 and ways in which we’ve incorporated that history into our building (the mural on the 1st floor and the commemorative walkway)

For the rest of Black History Month, each of the groups in our TA will focus on a historically black neighborhood in Arlington. Links to all shows can be found below.

 

SOAR Cohort at Yorktown

Screen Shot 2022-02-10 at 9.34.24 AMIf you are a rising 9th grader who is BIPOC (Black, Indigenous People of Color) and will be attending Yorktown High School, this program may be a great opportunity for you.SOAR Cohort is a wonderful opportunity for rising 9th graders coming to Yorktown. SOAR Cohort:

  • geared toward BIPOC students who would appreciate or benefit from a close-knit affinity group
  • focuses on developing academic skills needed for advanced level courses and college, leadership skills, social emotional growth
  • If students are leaving EL, SOAR can be a great support as they transition into non-EL classes.

Please see attached the attached  SOAR Flyer  for more information about SOAR.

Past Events

download-1

Arlington Tech Application & Information

  • Application DEADLINE is January 21, 2022 at 4pm.
  • Click HERE to view details about program and application.
  • Arlington Tech Informational flyer (English) (Spanish)

 

 

December 2, 2021
Shani King, author of Have I Ever Told You Black Lives Matter, visited our students virtually and shared his newest book with us. The book celebrates the accomplishments of many important black men and women in science, politics, leadership, the arts, and more.

Have I ever told you black lives matter book cover

 

November 6, 2020
Author La-Donia Alford-Jefferies of “Homecoming” visited DHMS to discuss writing development & the HBCU experience.

female author with homecoming book

 

 

 

 

 

As an Adjunct Professor, La-Donia Alford-Jefferies works to educate students about the importance of Historical Black Colleges and Universities every day. She is a graduate of North Carolina A&T State University and a native to Greensboro, North Carolina. With her mother a former professor at an HBCU for 40 years and her father an alum of North Carolina A&T State University, La-Donia is truly Aggie born, Aggie bred. Her husband, Michael and two daughters inspired her to write a book about their homecoming experiences as a family.