即將舉行的活動和機會

2022 年 XNUMX 月- NPFH 全校活動

1393709

DHMS 在全校範圍內舉辦了第一次仇恨無處可去的活動。 委員會的學生成員選擇關注身份和文化,這允許圍繞人與人之間的異同以及尊重這些差異的重要性進行討論。 全校範圍內的活動於 7 月 XNUMX 日那一周在鳳凰城時間開始,學生們觀看了一段關於身份的短片並討論了我們都有的差異以及如何尊重和慶祝它們。 活動以課堂和/或個人反思結束(例如製定行動步驟以尊重/慶祝他人、討論中的個人收穫、從年初修改他們的身份地圖)。

以下是我們如何尊重和慶祝人們的差異的一些方法:

  • 不要假設東西,因為它可能非常刻板。
  • 不要評判人。
  • 提出更廣泛的問題,而不是具體指出(尤其是關於一個人的身份時)。
  • 每個人都不一樣,都有自己的故事要講。
  • 每個人都有自己的觀點。
  • 當你陷入困境並努力做得更好時,承認並承擔責任。 示例:用錯誤的代詞稱呼他人。
  • 拓寬您的社交圈——嘗試結識新朋友。

總的來說,這是一次很棒的反思活動。 這項活動使我們能夠了解我們在流程中所處的位置,以便我們可以採取行動、認識並尊重我們 DHMS 社區內的差異。

 

2022年XNUMX月- NPFH認捐活動

沒有仇恨的地方標誌3 月 423 日這一周,DHMS 以前被介紹給 No Place for Hate (NPFH) 及其承諾。 迄今為止,已有 375 人簽署了承諾書,其中包括 47 名學生、1 名教職員工和 XNUMX 名家長。 看看在正門學校前面的簽名承諾表的展示。

NPFH 承諾簽署展示 2022-23

 

未來教育 2022 學生課程青年計劃

EduFuturo 的新青年計劃團隊負責人。 傳單附有不同中學和高中課程的信息,底部有註冊鏈接或二維碼。 計劃於 2022 年 XNUMX 月開始。中學:-STEM 註冊在秋季學期開放!

青年計劃 One Pager_ 2022

 

 

MSAN - 少數民族學生成就網絡

少數民族學生成就網絡 (MSAN) 交叉社會正義合作 邀請來自美國的初中和高中學生每月見面,參加綜合的社會正義青年領導力發展體驗,最終在計劃結束時舉辦全網絡的社會正義行動研究會。

APS 各初中和高中的一名學生參加了這個社會正義合作,每個月都會討論各種主題。 該小組於 XNUMX 月至 XNUMX 月開會。 上一屆學校和/或學區介紹了他們的公平行動計劃。 SC2021-標誌-紫色

APS 學生決定作為一個學區合作開展他們的項目,名為 APS 學生協作公平行動計劃。 來自 Dorothy Hamm 的 2 名中學生設計了該網站。 所有學生都為該網站貢獻了信息。 主頁提供了項目的整體範圍以及資源。 反饋頁面為教師和學生提供調查鏈接,以就我們學區的各種主題和改進方式提供反饋。 還有一個視頻可以提供學生的視角。 查看 APS 學生合作股權行動計劃 點擊鏈接。

 

無處可恨 

DHMS 在 2021-22 年沒有獲得仇恨指定的地方

沒有仇恨的地方標誌我很高興地宣布,Dorothy Hamm 中學已正式獲得 2021-2022 學年“無仇恨之地”稱號! 恭喜!!!

這一舉措使我們能夠促進與學生就代表性、身份以及慶祝和突出我們的差異的方式進行對話。 讓我們繼續讓我們的學校社區成為一個安全和歡迎所有人的空間。

 

2022 年 XNUMX 月 - NPFH 全校活動

沒有仇恨的地方標誌

DHMS 在全校範圍內舉辦了我們的第一次“No Place for Hate”活動。 委員會的學生成員選擇關注身份和文化,從而可以圍繞人與人之間的異同以及尊重這些差異的重要性進行討論。 全校範圍的活動於 16 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日星期一在午餐時間開始,學生們對提示“我是……”做出回應。這項活動為學生和教職員工提供了分享他們如何識別自己的機會。

全校活動的第二部分於 19 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日星期四在 TA 期間舉行,學生們觀看了一段關於身份的短片,並討論了我們所有人的差異以及如何尊重和慶祝它們。 活動以課堂和/或個人反思結束(例如創建尊重/慶祝他人的行動步驟、討論中的個人收穫、從年初開始修改他們的身份圖)。

總的來說,這是一次很棒的反思活動。 這項活動使我們能夠了解我們在流程中所處的位置,以便我們可以採取行動、認識並尊重我們 DHMS 社區內的差異。

NPFH 我是活動 16 月 XNUMX 日

 

2022年XNUMX月- NPFH認捐活動

在 4 月 5 日星期一和 2 月 908 日星期二,DHMS 在 TA 期間簽署了為期 872 天的 No Place for Hate (NPFH) 承諾。 迄今為止,已有 34 人簽署了承諾書,其中包括 2 名學生、XNUMX 名教職員工和 XNUMX 名家長。 看看在正門學校前面的簽名承諾卡的展示。

DHMS-NPFH承諾展示

 

2022 年 XNUMX 月 - NPFH 全校推廣

我們的廣播 TA 一直在與 Glenn 博士合作,努力在 DHMS 推出 No Place for Hate。 我們很高興與她合作! 查看與格倫博士的訪談,了解有關該計劃以及如何參與的更多信息。 在您的幫助下,我們將使我們的學校社區成為一個安全和歡迎所有人的空間。

 

DHMS 歷史紀念

2月XNUMX日星期三圖像 -  1

我們的廣播助教一直在與 Glenn 博士合作,慶祝 2 月 XNUMX 日 DHMS 的歷史紀念日以及黑人歷史月和無仇恨之地。 我們很高興與她合作!

本週,我們的節目將包括:

  • 採訪邁克爾·瓊斯,他是整合斯特拉特福初中的學生之一
  • 霍爾斯山附近的一段
  • 一段關於 2 年 1959 月 1 日曆史的視頻以及我們如何將這段歷史融入我們的建築(一樓的壁畫和紀念走道)

在黑人歷史月的剩餘時間裡,我們助教中的每個小組都將關注阿靈頓的一個歷史悠久的黑人社區。 所有節目的鏈接都可以在下面找到。

 

約克鎮的 SOAR 隊列

屏幕截圖2022-02  -  10 9.34.24在上午如果您是 BIPOC(黑人,有色人種)並將就讀於約克鎮高中的 9 年級新生,那麼該計劃對您來說可能是一個很好的機會。SOAR Cohort 是來到約克鎮的 9 年級新生的絕佳機會。 飆升隊列:

  • 面向會欣賞或受益於緊密親和團體的 BIPOC 學生
  • 專注於發展高級課程和大學所需的學術技能、領導技能、社交情感成長
  • 如果學生要離開 EL,在他們過渡到非 EL 課程時,SOAR 可以提供很大的支持。

請看附件  翱翔傳單  有關 SOAR 的更多信息。

過去的事

下載1

阿靈頓技術應用和信息

  • 申請 截止日期為 21 年 2022 月 4 日下午 XNUMX 點.
  • 點擊 立即註冊 查看有關程序和應用程序的詳細信息。
  • 阿靈頓科技信息傳單(English)(西班牙語)

 

 

December 2, 2021
Shani King,《我曾經告訴過你黑人的命也是命》一書的作者,以虛擬方式拜訪了我們的學生,並與我們分享了他的最新著作。 這本書慶祝了許多重要的黑人男女在科學、政治、領導力、藝術等方面的成就。

我有沒有告訴過你黑人的命也是命書封面

 

November 6, 2020
“Homecoming”的作者 La-Donia Alford-Jefferies 訪問 DHMS,討論寫作發展和 HBCU 經驗。

女作家與返校書

 

 

 

 

 

作為兼職教授,La-Donia Alford-Jefferies 每天致力於教育學生了解歷史悠久的黑人學院和大學的重要性。 她畢業於北卡羅來納州 A&T 州立大學,是北卡羅來納州格林斯伯勒的本地人。 她的母親曾在 HBCU 擔任教授 40 年,父親是北卡羅來納州 A&T 州立大學的校友,La-Donia 是真正的 Aggie 出生,Aggie 教養的。 她的丈夫邁克爾和兩個女兒啟發她寫了一本關於他們作為一個家庭的返鄉經歷的書。

Upcoming Events and Opportunities

MSAN-Anniversary

Minority Student Achievement Network (MSAN) Intersectional Social Justice Collaborative invites both middle and high school students from the U.S. to meet monthly to participate in an integrated social justice youth leadership development experience, culminating in a network-wide social justice action research fair at the end of the program.

A student from each middle and high school in APS participated in this social justice collaborative, where various topics were discussed each month. The group met from October to April. The last session schools and/ or districts presented their Equity Action Plan. SC2021-logo-purple

APS students decided to work collaboratively as a district for their project, entitled APS Student Collaborative Equity Action Plan. The 2 middle school students from Dorothy Hamm designed the website. All students contributed information for the site. The homepage provides the overall scope of the project along with resources. The feedback page provides survey links for teachers and students to give feedback on various topics and ways for our district to improve. There is also a video to provide a student perspective. To view APS Student Collaborative Equity Action Plan click the link.

 

No Place for Hate 

DHMS Earns No Place for Hate Designation for 2021-22

No Place for Hate logoI am pleased to announce that Dorothy Hamm Middle School has officially earned No Place for Hate designation for the 2021-2022 school year! Congratulations!!!

This initiative has allowed us to facilitate conversations with our students about representation, identity, and ways to celebrate and highlight our differences. Let’s continue to make our school community a safe and welcoming space for all.

 

May 2022- NPFH School-wide Activity

No Place for Hate logo

DHMS had our first No Place for Hate school-wide activity. The student members of the committee chose to focus on Identity and Culture, which allowed for a discussion around the similarities and differences between people and the importance of respecting those differences. The school-wide event commenced on Monday, May 16, 2022 during lunches with students responding to the prompt, “I AM…” This activity provided the opportunity for students and staff to share how they identify themselves.

The second part of the school-wide event was held Thursday, May 19, 2022 during TA, where students watched a short video about identity and discussed the differences we all have and how to respect and celebrate them. The activity ended with class and/ or individual reflection (such as create action steps to respect/ celebrate others, personal takeaways from discussion, modify their identity maps from the beginning of the year).

Overall, it was a great reflective activity. This activity allowed us to acknowledge where we are in the process so that we can take action, recognize, and respect the differences within our DHMS community.

NPFH I am Activity May 16

 

April 2022- NPFH Pledge Activity

On Monday, April 4th and Tuesday, April 5th DHMS had a 2 day signing of the No Place for Hate (NPFH) pledge during TA. To date 908 people have signed the pledge which includes 872 students, 34 staff members, and 2 parents. Take a look at the display of the signed pledge cards that is in the front of school by main door.

DHMS-NPFH pledge display

 

March 2022- NPFH School-wide Rollout

Our Broadcast TA has been working with Dr. Glenn in efforts to roll out No Place for Hate at DHMS. We’re excited to collaborate with her! Check out the interview with Dr. Glenn to learn more about this program and how to get involved. With your help, we will make our school community a safe and welcoming space for all.

 

DHMS Historical Commemoration

Wednesday, February 2ndimages-1

Our Broadcast TA has been working with Dr. Glenn on the anniversary of DHMS’ historical commemoration on February 2nd as well as Black History Month and No Place for Hate. We’re excited to collaborate with her!

This week, our show will feature:

  • an interview with Michael Jones, one of the students who integrated Stratford Junior High
  • a segment on the Halls Hill neighborhood
  • a video about the history of February 2, 1959 and ways in which we’ve incorporated that history into our building (the mural on the 1st floor and the commemorative walkway)

For the rest of Black History Month, each of the groups in our TA will focus on a historically black neighborhood in Arlington. Links to all shows can be found below.

 

SOAR Cohort at Yorktown

Screen Shot 2022-02-10 at 9.34.24 AMIf you are a rising 9th grader who is BIPOC (Black, Indigenous People of Color) and will be attending Yorktown High School, this program may be a great opportunity for you.SOAR Cohort is a wonderful opportunity for rising 9th graders coming to Yorktown. SOAR Cohort:

  • geared toward BIPOC students who would appreciate or benefit from a close-knit affinity group
  • focuses on developing academic skills needed for advanced level courses and college, leadership skills, social emotional growth
  • If students are leaving EL, SOAR can be a great support as they transition into non-EL classes.

Please see attached the attached  SOAR Flyer  for more information about SOAR.

Past Events

download-1

Arlington Tech Application & Information

  • Application DEADLINE is January 21, 2022 at 4pm.
  • Click HERE to view details about program and application.
  • Arlington Tech Informational flyer (English) (Spanish)

 

 

December 2, 2021
Shani King, author of Have I Ever Told You Black Lives Matter, visited our students virtually and shared his newest book with us. The book celebrates the accomplishments of many important black men and women in science, politics, leadership, the arts, and more.

Have I ever told you black lives matter book cover

 

November 6, 2020
Author La-Donia Alford-Jefferies of “Homecoming” visited DHMS to discuss writing development & the HBCU experience.

female author with homecoming book

 

 

 

 

 

As an Adjunct Professor, La-Donia Alford-Jefferies works to educate students about the importance of Historical Black Colleges and Universities every day. She is a graduate of North Carolina A&T State University and a native to Greensboro, North Carolina. With her mother a former professor at an HBCU for 40 years and her father an alum of North Carolina A&T State University, La-Donia is truly Aggie born, Aggie bred. Her husband, Michael and two daughters inspired her to write a book about their homecoming experiences as a family.